Homemade Taco Seasoning

1443064147603

Ever since the birth of my daughter, I have started to become a little more cautious about what we put into our bodies. Processed foods are everywhere, and not good for you, at all. Now, I’ll admit I still eat some processed foods, but I no longer buy a lot of things I used to; I am embarrassed to even say what foods I used to buy. I started reading labels and really looking at what is in everything that we buy. Side note: can someone tell me why bread has 291901 ingredients when I can make it with 3 at home? Makes NO sense. I digress. I am not sure what did it for me, probably an amazing blogger that I found one day on Pinterest. One food item at a time at the grocery store, I was looking at labels. I was making myself aware of all the nasty stuff that is in our foods.

Taco seasoning was a weird thing for me. It was so cheap, and such an easy meal. Just pour the packet and your meat is seasoned. We actually started using our own taco seasoning one night when I realized we had no taco seasoning packets. We surprisingly had all the ingredients so we decided to just make it ourselves. It was ok, but nothing like those cheap store bought seasoning packets. The next time I went grocery shopping I strolled right past the aisle with all those packets. You know, meatloaf, gravy, roast seasoning, and even dry ranch dressing (which has MSG in it by the way). I remembered that we did not have any taco seasoning so I went to grab the cheap little packet. Then I stopped. I looked at the back for the ingredients and quickly put it back. No way was I going to spend .69 cents on a packet of junk. We have not bought any packets of seasoning mixes since that day.

It has taken some trial and error (trust me on the error part) but we finally found a seasoning recipe that we like, and tastes so much better than the seasoning packets. Feel free to find your own recipe and tweak it as you want to, this is just a tasty version we have tweaked.

20150923_165950

I will mention that we normally use normal chili powder, but ran out. The last two times we have had taco seasoned beef we have used this and it still tastes good. I only used half of what I normally would though.

  • 1/4tsp Onion Powder
  • 1/4tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1/4tsp Red Pepper
  • 1/4tsp Dried Oregano
  • 1/2tsp Paprika
  • 1tsp Sea Salt
  • 1tsp Black Pepper
  • 1 1/2tsp Cumin
  • 1TBS Chili Powder (use less or more depending on level of spiciness you like)
  • Water (I just eyeball it. I use enough to get everything mixed with a little consistency).

We love using our own seasoning because we know what is in it. Everything in that picture above, with a little added water. No extra ingredients that are unnecessary (riboflavin, citric acid, partially hydrogenated soybean oil…etc). My new moto I am slowly implementing into our lives is, if you do not know what the ingredient is, you probably should not be consuming it. One thing you will notice when you try this, is your beef is not orange colored. You know how food industries color food items to make them more appealing, I think this is the case here. Homemade Taco Seasoned beef will not be orange. Another bonus is it does not stain the wooden spatula or anything else you normally would see staining on. It is awesome! Think of the .69 cents you will save by not purchasing those packets anymore! I challenge you to try this recipe the next time you have tacos!

Leave a Reply

