Smart Bottoms Hemp Inserts

image

I have never had a super heavy wetter child, so I never looked into having these Hemp inserts, or any extra absorbency for that matter. However, I got a good deal on them, and picked some up (because you know, you cannot pass up a good deal on Smart Bottoms). I was anticipating using them at night time in our Smart Bottoms AIO, to see if they would hold up for my daughter. From that experiment, which can be seen in this video, failed pretty badly. At least for my toddler daughter. They are meant for added absorbency during the day, not for a toddler who sleeps 12+ hours at night.

For awhile they sat in a basket, collecting dust because I just did not know what to do with them. My daughter can wear a Smart Bottoms 3.1 for a few hours at home with no problem, so she did not need the extra absorbency during the day. Then Smart Bottoms started releasing all these awesome new prints and exclusives making the long prepping period very hard! I did not want to wait 8-10 washes for my daughter to wear the new diaper. That is when I added one of these Hemp Inserts after one-two washes of the new diaper. She could wear the diaper for up to two hours (but I did not try to push it any longer). This gave me enough time to get some pictures of the new diaper!

wp-1450578284681.jpg

Another use for the inserts I found was to add into the diaper before running errands. If you are anything like me, and have a toddler, changing diapers in public cannot always be the easiest task. If I know I will be out for at least 3 hours, I will add one of these inserts to her diaper. This adds just enough absorbency that she has no leaks while we are out!

wp-1450578305723.jpg

Besides what I have found works best for us with these inserts, they are great for daytime heavy wetters too! If you have a child who just floods their diapers in an hour (or possibly a lot sooner than that), I really recommend trying out these inserts! They are trim and super absorbent. They are sold in two different sizes; small and large. I have the size small, making them fit in any of the rise settings. The ones I have are a Hemp/Cotton Blend, making them fast to absorb because of the cotton, but also absorbent because of the hemp. I love how absorbent hemp/cotton is! The Smart Folds are the same material that we use overnight! It really is the best natural fiber I have had experience with. I have tried bamboo boosters and they do not hold nearly as much as the Hemp/Cotton ones do! Smart Bottoms also makes a 100% Organic Cotton insert (same shape and sizes as the Hemp ones). These will absorb quickly, but will not hold as much as the hemp ones will. These inserts are great for an extra boost with your diapers! Ours definitely get some good use now!

IMG_20151218_102310-2

wp-1450578330379.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

